top of page

I was lucky enough to grow up surrounded by books and this started a love affair with reading and language from a very early age that continues to this day. A Bachelor of Arts in English and American Literature and Italian Language and Literature from the University of Kent at Canterbury in 1995 was followed four years later by a Post Graduate Certificate of Education in Secondary English with Drama from the University of Cambridge. 

 

I have been involved in the teaching of English in some shape or form ever since then, having taught in schools in Gloucestershire, Wiltshire and Bristol in a variety of roles, as well as successfully tutoring students on a private basis for a number of years.

I'm also a lifelong student, having found the time to study for a Bachelor of Science in Psychology with the Open University (graduating in 2006) and a Post Graduate Diploma in Forensic Psychology with the University of Gloucestershire (completed in 2010). I'm a firm believer in it never being too late to learn!

Having seen at first-hand the benefit that students get from focused after-school tuition, I started my YouTube channel Claire's Notes in 2020 in order to provide learners of any age with free tutorials on all aspects of the English curriculum from GCSE upwards which they can access at their convenience. Not everyone can afford the luxury of a private tutor and I hope that, in my own, small way, I can help to plug this gap.

I currently live in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire with my husband, my son, my cat and my dog.

bottom of page